Serving the mountain communities that support Clear Creek, Conifer, Evergreen, and Platte Canyon High Schools.

My my My my
History of Mountain Lacrosse
The Mountain Area Youth Lacrosse Association (MAYLA) was founded in 2001, when Rebecca Schloegl organized the league and recruited several coaches to field three teams in Evergreen.  Prior to Ms. Schloegl organizing the Mountain Area Youth Lacrosse Association, any athlete interested in playing lacrosse was required to join a front range team – typically Westside Lacrosse.

In the Fall of 2003, the Mountain Lacrosse League (MLL) with the first formal board of directors was established, including: Andrew Fletcher - President, Mike Haley - Vice President, Kevin Krum - Treasurer, Todd Hooks - Secretary, John DuWaldt, Clayton Chessman, and Jeff Modiset. 

The club soon became a member of the Colorado Lacrosse League, and scheduled games against teams in the Denver Area.  In 2007, the CLL merged with the CJLA to form the Colorado Youth Lacrosse Association (CYLA).  Today the CYLA is made-up of more than front 30 front range boys youth lacrosse clubs, (nearly 300 teams) with more than 6,000 players, making the CYLA one of the top 5 youth lacrosse leagues in the nation.

Since it began in 2001, lacrosse has become a Varsity sport at both Evergreen and Conifer High Schools for both boys and girls.  In 2008, Clear Creek HS began a lacrosse ‘club’ program.